RSS

riding tandem…kinda

22 Aug

I wonder if staying married is a little like riding a tandem bicycle. It looks like fun to everyone else, but it is a lot of work. Many people daydream about how fun it will be and paint an idealistic picture in their mind’s eye. The forget about the sweat, and the traffic, and the wind, and the rain.

I have actually only been on a tandem once, but I am borrowing one to ride on a date. I am a tad worried it is not such a great idea. Let me back up. I will tell you how it was pitched to me as an idea. Recently, I fell off my bike and sprained my wrist. I am wearing a brace and the pain is pretty minimal. I was at an in service for my bus driving job. A supervisor approached me and was telling about wanting to sell her tandem. Apparently her husband is not such a great communicator. I am not totally convinced. It seems that he has ducked for branches and not said anything out loud about it. She took the hit like a champ. In marriage this would be like not warning someone the in-laws were coming to dinner.

She wasn’t done regaling stories. Stopped at the stoplight, he jumped on the pedals and started to go. Well, her feet were not in the pedals and she got a nasty bear bite from the pedal. I forgot to ask if there was blood. This would be like changing careers without the months of discussion.

Another story recanted how he likes to go uphill. He is a strong rider and wanted to attack the hill. Unfortunately, the gear choice was much to hard for her and so she struggled up the hill. Well as she cramped up, there was some discussion about compromise. This would be a lesson in being unequally yoked.

The last one recanted his desire for speed downhill. (Makes sense to me, he drug her up the hill, right?) Well, like most riders, he wanted to test his limits of speed. It was just fast enough that he didn’t hear her scream in horror. This might be like the problem between the parent who starts the food fight and the one who cleans it up.

From what I can tell, riding a tandem is all about communication. It is about sharing a journey. It is about enjoying the company and the companionship. The understanding that the journey wont be a dream, but some hard work helps to gleen the fun out of it. Enjoy the ride and wish me luck…what could go wrong?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 22, 2013 in journey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “riding tandem…kinda

  1. tye

    August 22, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    T having read your short story of “tandem” riding I agree with the premise of good communication and the idealistic expectations. Just like marriage it “looks” easy, but is in actuality much more difficult. Observation in my opinion is the key to both tandem riding and marriage. One observes how to be Happily married and stay happily married from those whom have come before us and given good advice, and we may have taken said advice. A tandem bicycle riding experience is where the observation comes in. Having observed many of these excursions I, and My wife agree that we will not ever subject our happy marriage to a “tandem” bike ride. two independent head strong people belong on two totally different bicycles. I liken a “tandem” bike ride for a test of a couples one-ness and communication, to chasing down a mama bear with cubs in the forest just to pet the bear to show how much you appreciate the beauty of nature. Just my two cents i do wish you the best on the “ride”.. lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

