RSS

Silver and Gold

29 Aug

“What brings your wonder and joy?” I asked myself.

“I am not sure anymore.” was the answer.

This morning I was sticking ‘wonder and joy’ into the song, “Silver and Gold”. I had decided it was pretty dang sad that I don’t have a ready list of things I anticipate and ponder over. I used to be able to run a list of things I found interesting. I reveled in the absurd: why are there locks on 7 to 11’s when they are open 24 hours? Why do we park on driveways and drive on parkways? The pursuit of answers to the absurd would bring me joy.

And then there was the getting to know people wonder. I was never good at asking the basic questions: “Favorite color, book, movie?” or “What’s your major?” My questions got to the heart of who people were. I wanted to know deep intriguing information. My questions tended to spark real thought and self exploration: “Who would win in a debate, Count Chochola or Boo Berry?” These are important questions.

There was a time that I was a very social person. As a kid my mother was often followed around supermarkets so that people could see my smile. I enjoyed people and they enjoyed me. Unfortunately, it became an expectation. I withered. I hid from it and I learned to enjoy the recluse lifestyle. It was safer. I am not so social anymore and really large crowds bother me.

What happened to my wonder and joy? Where did I go? As I drove the school bus this morning, I saw this 8 or 10 year old boy waiting for another bus. He was dancing a jig and watching a bug (I assume) on his finger. My heart smiled and then my face did to. As soon as it did, the High Schooler in the seat behind me smiled and told a joke. Several kids laughed and the wave of good mood crested the bus. IT was fascinating to watch the tension subside and the mood elevate. Priceless.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in journey

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Silver and Gold

  1. Debbie

    August 29, 2013 at 11:25 am

    This reminds me of my recent mantra to “Find your power and use it for good!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

