RSS

unHobbling

03 Sep

I am a fan of the movie, “Peaceful Warrior.” It feels to me like if a 12 step lesson and a Rocky movie had a baby. That baby would be best friends with this movie.

I am haunted by one scene in particular and it never ceases to make me shudder just a bit. IF you’ve seen the movie, you know the scene. Let me describe it. The protagonists life is falling apart, as lives tend to do from time to time. He hobbles out of his dorm room, carrying his cane. We see him entering a clock tower and then climbing out the ledge at the top. He throws the cane off the ledge. In the darkness comes another voice from the ledge. After some scary interactions, we see he is meeting himself on the ledge. But it is the former, cocky self. The young and dumb self. It is the self assured, blind to life self. It is the self centered and self absorbed self. The self absorbed self nearly pulls the hobbled self off the ledge. Suddenly, Hobbled Self tries to pull Selfish Guy back on the ledge and not die. He realizes that to move past his injury and his sludge he needs to let this guy fall. He needs to die to himself.

Selfish self yells at Hobbled self. He asks questions that really bother me. He asks, “Do you know who you are without me?” The answer is a meek but truthful, “No.” He bellows, “Do you know what you are doing?” Again, “No” is the reply. Hobbled self gathers his strength and lets himself go.

This scene haunts me. I ask myself, “Do I know who I am without my career or whatever trappings I carry?” Do I know what I am doing when I just try to BE instead of DO? Am I lost? Could I face myself and let me go?

The Grace I have been given is that I have been hobbled and faced my former self. I did have the courage to let go. I do know who I am. I would not wish the path I took to get here on anyone, but the outcome is glorious.

Whenever I think of that scene, another comes to mind…
“Where are you?” says the voice over.
“Here” says unhobbled, Hobbled Self.
“What time is it?”
“Now”
“Who are you?”
“The moment.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2013 in life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

