RSS

soar or sore

15 Sep

“I feel like a bandaid.” a friend of mine said.

“I don’t know who I am.”

“I don’t remember the last time I laughed like that.”

“I am afraid of the future, remorseful of the past.”

“I am not…”

“What makes your heart soar?” “I don’t remember.”

It is the oddest thing to have such a strong desire to soar and feel stuck like a bandaid. A bandaid on a mortal wound. Trying desperately to hold the bleeding back as it seeps around you and through you. Trying with all your might to heal the wound underneath. Knowing that if you stay, the bleeding will continue, but afraid to let go and soar.

I know, logically, that we are not meant to be stuck to the wound. I know we are to live into life abundantly. I know that God wants us to soar despite the wound. But I hold onto the past, thinking if I just cling longer or better it will be healed.

I made a list of all the things I was sore about. I dug deep into my pain and the pain I passed to others. I made amends wherever possible. I thought I had held together the wound. The wound festered. As it oozed blood and pus, I deluded myself into thinking I had done a good job. The tidal wave of infection and debris pushed against my resolve to cling on. The pressure was tremendous as I imagined that I couldn’t let go, that I was doing a good job. I tore loose with a loud pop. I fell to the ground and was covered with the filth I was holding back. It showered me. It covered me. It drowned me.

God reached down. He sat next to me and held my hand as the filth ran off me. He sat with me as the ooze slid away. As the wetness dried away, and the ooze left, he whispered. He leaned over, kissed my forehead, said He loved me, and he whispered. He whispered, “Soar.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2013 in faith, journey, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

