RSS

quitter, quitter, pumpkin eater

16 Sep

I found a picture of myself as a 6 year old. The story is a good one. My parents were having a party. Really they had another couple over to play bridge and drink beer. It was always fun when there was company. I tried to stay up. I was told to go to bed a few times, but refused. I didn’t want to miss anything. There were threats and subtle hints. My mom was creative. She said, “That’s fine, you don’t have to sleep. Why don’t you go to your room for a few minutes and listen to what is happening. If you stop crying, you can come back out.” I dutifully tromped off to my room. I stood there, holding my pillow. I would not go to bed. I was not tired. I would show them. Well, that’s the picture. Me standing next to my bed, holding my pillow, sound asleep.

I saw this picture as I considered buying a Winnebago and driving to a beach in Bora Bora or something. I would eat crabs and coconuts and mumble about the world as I wondered if I still owned any shoes. You see, I am a quitter. I have started quite a few things, but end up not following through. I tried guitar as a kid and played for about a year. I walked 2 miles to lessons dreaming of being a rock star. I learned “Greensleeves” for my Dad’s birthday. HE harrumphed a thank you and I quit the next day. I tried piano for awhile, at my mom’s insistence. I would watch TV until I heard the car in the driveway and run to the piano and pretend to practice. My parents were baffled that I never seemed to get any better. I joined a bowling league and quit when my fingers outgrow my ball. I tried getting into movies and quit when I didn’t get a role in “The Outsiders.” I tried to buy a house with some college friends and freaked out. I dropped the contract and lost the earnest money my Dad had fronted me.

I quit drinking…7 years sober now. I quit not standing up for myself. I quit hiding from myself.

I was thinking of quitting trying with my daughters. I am embarrassed to say it and it brings tears to my eyes. I felt like I couldn’t handle the pain anymore. The rejection and the tumult mounted. I pondered the futility of pursuing them. I questioned my importance. I cried.

I quit letting myself be beaten up. I quit avoiding dealing with my mistake. I quit guilt and shame and asked for redemption. I quit hiding behind excuses. I quit lying about who I was. I quit believing what some others said about me and believed what God says about me. I wont quit loving my daughters. I wont quit waiting to welcome them in my open arms. I won’t quit. I am not tired. Hand me the pillow please.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 16, 2013 in journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “quitter, quitter, pumpkin eater

  1. Candace

    September 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    Oh Dr. T. Hang in there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

