RSS

falling

24 Sep

Why is it referred to as falling in love? What are you falling off? It makes it sound like jumping out of a plane of stability and casual relationships into the abyss of curtains and matching dishes. If it is falling, perhaps a pre-nup is the parachute.

When you fall, you are going from a higher place to a lower place. You might skin your knees, or, if you have a brother that trips you when your hands are in your pockets, get a bloody nose. Doesn’t that seem more like when love ends instead of starts? (well except the tripping by your brother) See, falling in love doesn’t make sense. Some people told me it is because you feel out of control. However, falling isn’t out of control or random in the least. Gravity says we are going to fall. Now, being whisked up in a big wind through flocks of seagulls…that seems out of control.

Perhaps it should be climbing to love, or elevating, or jumping. There should be some word that implies going from a lower plateau to a new improved higher one. “Hey, Babe, I am lofting a new rung of the ladder for you.” I just seems like if you are going to be in love, the process should have a more appealing course of action. I get it that it seems unpredictable and scary to be in love. I get it that many people have lost their heart and minds to unrequited love. Still, falling to your emotional death seems somewhat unattractive, doesn’t it?

I have decided I am not going to do that. I wish to climb to the next rung of the ladder instead of fall off some precipice.

Am I wrong?

I think not.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2013 in journey, life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “falling

  1. tinemagpayo

    September 24, 2013 at 5:48 am

    I guess nothing about love makes sense.

     
    • iamnamed

      September 24, 2013 at 6:00 am

      perhaps, but shouldn’t it? perhaps we are so focused on what it isn’t, we forget what it is.

       
      • Billie Knitig

        September 24, 2013 at 7:58 am

        love should never make you feel like you are falling .It should be an emotional high that makes you feel better not worse! If you are falling that person should be there to catch you and when that happens you know you are with the right person!

         

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

