RSS

as you love yourself

04 Oct

I am going to date. I am going to date myself. I have decided that I need to start nurturing a relationship with myself. I want to cherish myself, honor myself, look for the good in, be amused by the oddities, forgiving of mistakes. I want to learn and revel in myself as a new love. Now all tht sounds great but the logistics kinda baffle me.

I went to a bar in a trench coat and wearing only underwear….long story short, the policeman understood.

I met myself at a coffee shop to meet and greet. After drinking two espressos, I was talking so fast, I couldn’t understand myself. I didn’t give me my number.

I tried to take me to a movie, but Paul Reubans was there, so I left.

Truthfully, what I have decided to do is to change my inner monologue. I don’t know anyone who has a positive inner voice, but mine can be very nasty. I have taken to telling it to shut up, but it just keeps coming back. The way I am combatting that is reflexive speech, Every time I hear that voice telling me I am not good enough, not worthy, or any number of other negative droning speech, I will respond with vocalizing something positive about myself. I realize I am going to look like Stuart Smalley having a nice little seizure.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2013 in journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “as you love yourself

  1. Me

    October 5, 2013 at 7:38 am

    There is never an end to building self-confidence. The process does not end when we realize we are one with the world. Healthy self-confidence means cultivating and maintaining a caring relationship with ourselves in spite of the disbelief, discouragement, and influence of others.

    “Self-confidence, in itself, is of no value. It is useful only when put to work” Anonymous

     
    • iamnamed

      October 5, 2013 at 8:54 am

      for sure, it is not easy to build self confidence without the tools.

       

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

