RSS

dont taste the rainbow

21 Oct

I stood at the base of the rainbow. I wagged my head from right to left. I was amazed at the largeness of it. It spanned from there to over yonder. I flashed on the Skittles commercial, “Taste the Rainbow.” I wondered if I really could. The colors were vibrant and electric. I imagined I could hear the neon hum. I stepped closer to it and smelled the freshness of the afternoon rain. There was a soft alluring smell of crispness from the rainbow. I reached to touch it. It felt like running a hand through mist, like shaking hands with a cloud. I strained my neck and opened my mouth. As I just began to taste the rainbow, it shattered. It rained sugar coated candies like hail. The rainbow was gone and I wondered if I had actually seen it and touched it.

There is an intrinsic gift of stupidity. Its Grace. If Adam and Eve got tossed from the Garden because they ate of the tree of knowledge, then stupidity or ignorance would have been secured our naked and snake free existence. It isn’t that God wants us to go through life not thinking or creating or reasoning, He wanted us to only know good. The tree was knowing the difference between good and evil. It seems to me that it is seeing that every event, every person, everything has a positive side and a negative side. It isn’t Rock and Roll, or Money, or Hummers, or Government, that is the root of evil, its our perception and interpretation that makes them evil. Its the love of money, ie making it a false god, that is the root. Money itself is inanimate and man created, it can’t be good or evil on its’ own.

The idea that I can stand before God and know and understand the wholeness is the huberus nature I subscribe to. I run after God at breakneck speed. I scurry over hill and dale. I suffer the thorns, tree limbs, dirt, bushes, and rabid animals. I stand under God and admire the largeness. I wag my head from side to side and gaze at the beauty. I fail to recognize that at any given moment I am seeing only a part of the whole. I am compartmentalizing the rainbow each millisecond. I understand and see only a fragment. I interpret the whole on the part I see. I extrapolate from the smells, the feel, the sight of God. I forget that I did not invent the rainbow, that I am not bigger than the rainbow. I claim it as my own because I acquired it and I want it. The tingly sensation on my hands confirm my desire. I have forgotten the pot of gold, guarded by the leprechaun. I want the Rainbow. As I reach out to make it mine. I strain to ingest it and keep it from the others. I savor the idea that My God will be only mine. As I seek to exclude others from the beauty of the rainbow, it shatters. It is no longer a miracle for all to see. It is a shower of platitudes and promises as empty as the calories. I am left unfed, un-nutured, uninspired, and un-awed. The worst part is that the magnificence of my rainbow is also absent to attract others’.

I forget to let God be God. I chase after Him, bask in His love and beauty. I get as close as I think I can and even have felt His hand holding mine. I get tingly. I forget that it is the pursuing that is the Gift. Its the journey with and to the Rainbow that defines Grace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2013 in journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

