RSS

Someday, I will wear stretchy pants.

25 Oct

“Please God, I don’t know who I am or how to BE me.” my heart screams.

“I am scared, alone, tormented, angry, resentful, and broken.” my soul clamors.

“I can fix it.” my head declares.

A friend sent me a link to a sermon today. The sermon is about Jacob wrestling with God. I have always loved this story and see myself as a grappler. I glorify in leaving with a limp after a well struggled match. I am not linking to the sermon because I have yet to get over the resentment to that pastor and friend and his rejection of me during my divorce.

Something new came from the story today, however. I have imagined this story to be a declaration from God that we are encouraged to wrestle with Him. We are invited into a sweaty and exhaustive relationship with God. Be aware, this will leave us changed, marked by a limp perhaps. I told my friend that I also see this story as God’s encouragement to have real relationships with other people. Jacob got into this by hiding out from his brother Esau. After this match, with a guy he thought was just a guy, he went and made true amends with Esau.

I considered the idea that this was a way for God to tell Jacob that to truly love God with all your heart, mind, and soul, we have to love others as well. I do not mean the love where we shave our heads and hand out flowers at airports. I am referring to that openness to get dirty in the connecting with other people.

Today, I started to consider that God renames Jacob after besting him. He gets named, Israel. God acknowledges that in Jacob is a man that enjoys the grapple. He understands that Jacob is stubborn and even a little devious. He looks at this animal skin wearing, birthright stealing, momma’s boy, and says, “Cool, standard Greco-Roman or shall I get my Dominator mask and stretchy pants?” Then he lets Jacob defend himself, try and control God. He allows Jacob to get ahold of Him, and maybe even pin Him down for a brief time. When Jacob just about has Him in a spine cruncher hold, God wrenches his hip (the Bible version of hitting him with a folding chair, as I understand it). All this just to take his name away? At the end of it, did God even take away the fake arm hair, the legal birthright, or the Oedipal complex?

No!

God looks at him with love and says, “Be Israel, be who you are and stop fighting yourself, others, and me.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 25, 2013 in faith, journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

