RSS

leaping lizards

03 Nov

I am a little confused. Befuddled. Wack-a-doodle.

I am feeling liberated and imprisoned.

I am sad and happy.

I am devastated and estatic.

Its not really all that bad. I have certainly been through all the emotions. Prior to a dramatic change about 7 years ago, I had diminished to having only anger. I faked emotions pretty well. I could say the right words, even look the part. But once I was out of the situation, I would let myself bubble forth with the familiar anger I so enjoyed. I would revel in it and then escape from life. I was dying, emotionally and spiritually. I didn’t really care or notice.

I am divorced and it has been less than congenial. I have seen lawyers, and parental alienation experts, and counselors. It has not been an easy process at all. I have tried to be principled in my dealings with my ex wife and kids. IT hasn’t really helped anything at all. As I said, it is not congenial and the kids have become very angry and echo more than communicate.

All this to say that I have had a pretty emotional year and a half. It is ironic that as I begin to feel emotions again and to live again, I am in the midst of a tornado. Caught up in this tornado is all the debris of an old life, stale lies, lost dreams, new dreams, vibrant truths, and new adventures. It spins around me. I stand in the middle—it is calm as I watch it all whistle past. I know that God stands with me in the eye of the storm. I watch it and can understand that what whizzes by isn’t real, it isn’t really who I am. However, I stand there and watch the swirl and I have that temptation to leap back into the storm. It is overwhelming. I am calm and free and without fear and I just want to rejoin the chaos I have created. The urge overwhelms me, it calls like a Siren call. I beg God to lash me to the pole like Odysseus. He lovingly grants me the choice. He holds my hand. He comforts me. As I leap, He leaps with me. I get pummeled by the debris. I grow expectations. I have demands, lusts, and cravings. I beg God to save me once again. I beg that the spinning stop. As with Peter, He is there immediately.

We stand in the eye of the storm and I have the urge to leap again. This time I pause. I ask why I do that. I listen to the whispers that God speaks through others, and sermons, and books, and music. God just smiles, winks, and says, “Trust.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2013 in journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

