RSS

He does

23 Nov

“Sure, I believe.” I answered. I had been asked if I thought God could restore me to sanity. I was being asked if I was willing to say and live out the Truth that God is everything. It seemed like an easy answer. I don’t see science/reason as the opposite of Faith. I see them as complimentary. I see them as both necessary parts of a mysterious whole. It was easy for me to say the words. I truly thought I had Faith down to a science. I was certain that God had saved me from myself. I figured God blessed me with my family, my career, my business, my friends, my life in general. I really had it all, but I was dying on the inside.

I really wanted to be a guy that lived a life of “God is Everything.” As things flittered away, I responded with Faith. As I suffered the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, I accepted my mistakes. I prayed. I saw little evidences of God in voices of others. I kept getting back up when I was knocked down. I felt guilty when I doubted. I doubted often.

I asked God for help often. I asked Him to show himself. I prayed like “Bruce Almighty.” “Show me a sign.”

I drive a school bus. I had 63 High Schoolers on the bus. I was not a nice guy that day. I was restless, irritable, and discontent. I yelled and barked at everyone. After dropping them off, I headed to the Elementary school. They were in for a tongue lashing. Someone had done the unforgiveable sin the day before and left a juice box on the bus. I fumed. However, I prayed. “God, show up, now!”

A third grade girl got on the bus first. She tromped up the stairs and put her hands on her hips. She appraised me and said, “Hey, where is your smile?”

He did.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 23, 2013 in faith, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “He does

  1. Susan Irene Fox

    November 23, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Don’t you love it when He shows up like that? Even when we push Him away, act like morons and be the one to cause others to say, “Really? He’s a Christian?” God comes and restores us in the form of an innocent little girl, reminding us that our joy is in Him, not our circumstances. I’ve always said God has a great sense of humor! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

