RSS

freeze that

06 Dec

IT has been cold here in Colorado. I am not talking about normal Colorado cold. I am talking about really dang cold. I have eaten lunch and taken a nap before it got to zero, cold. It is cold. (Still, some of the kids are wearing shorts to school) My muscles ache in the snow. My back pain from shoveling persists until it climbs to freezing again. My fingers and toes don’t thaw until Spring. Its just that cold.

I drove by a lake today. Most of it is frozen over and there is some snow on the ice. I shivered thinking about duck feet. I looked at the snow covered reminder that ice floats. Occasionally, the crystalline structures shimmered. I drove by and they seems to wink at me. Millions of tiny crystal fairies winking at me. It was spectacular. I couldn’t decide if they winked at something I didn’t know or just to say, “Hello.”

I remembered the last time I was confronted with anger and hostility. I have encountered that a lot this last year or more. There has been anger from people who days or weeks before were saying they loved me. I have seen hate in the eyes that once cried for comfort. I have seen and heard and felt the darkest emotions of my life this last 18 months. I have felt this cold before. I have seen the storm move over the hearts and freezing the souls of people I would rather be hugging.

The drive by the lake reminded me of their demeaner. The lake spoke to me about those hearts and souls. I felt the cut of the ice again. But just like the lake, I felt warmed by the occasional laughs. I felt the glow of an easy smile or a fond memory. I was reminded that there is ALWAYS a spark in people. There is ALWAYS beauty. Those sneaky Fairies are everywhere.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2013 in divorce

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “freeze that

  1. Susan Irene Fox

    December 6, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    *:x

     
    • Susan Irene Fox

      December 6, 2013 at 3:42 pm

      Well, that didn’t turn out exactly like I wanted: Consider it a loving smile.

       

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

