RSS

now you see me

08 Dec

Do you see me?

Kids everywhere asking parents.

Do I see me?

Confused adults pondering.

See?

Proof.

I turned on Avatar. I love the scene where she tells him, “I see you.” I cherish the idea that someone can see who you really are and want to walk with that. I long to be seen. I am afraid of it, to be sure. I have some dark nooks and crannies that I have worked to hide. I have been diligent at opening the closets and exposing them. I run through the rooms of my memory, throwing open the doors. I drag things into the light and confront them. It has been exhausting, painful, and terrifying. I have scared away a wife, family, friends, and a career. There are a few closets that I open up, only to discover another door to open. I open that and there is a locked door inside. It is a mental video game. I have to open some other door in my brain first and find a key.

I have to see me before other can really see me. In the movie, they can just connect there hair plug into some animal and become one. I have tried that, but it doesn’t go over very well. I would not suggest trying.

I have talked to many people. I have discovered that most have a desire, whether they admit it or not, to be seen. That longing to have someone you love look into your heart and simply approve of the whole of you. But also, I think we want to see someone like that. We want to sit with someone and look into their heart and soul. To explore the recesses of their mind without fear or judgement.

See?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 8, 2013 in divorce, life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

