RSS

love and grenades

11 Jan

Time went speeding past, a brief thought, a leap.
The grenade found its’ mark. Then time froze. It crept along.
Each fragment had a different path, a different story.
Each piece of the whole would need to be followed, watched, loved.
I am falling pieces.
I am fragmented.
The whole is there, the whole can be found, but not right now.
I panick to super glue the pieces together. I scramble to pick them up, examine them, and replace them.
I looked at the piece that represented my occupation and try to speedily consider it. I looked at the frayed edges. I examine the burns and the scars. I try to decide if it fits in the puzzle anymore. I am looking at one side of the piece. I don’t see the joy. I don’t see the connections. I don’t see the gift. I even resent it as a scattered piece.
I leap to catch the piece of financial security and my ‘stuff’. I over-value its’ importance. I am comfortable with it. It feels safe. It feels weighty. I also see the ugly side. I feel guilty for what I have. I feel deserving and sanctimonious. I see that to have it, I made an agreement to have to earn it, to pay for it. The resentment of feeling trapped by my occupation is only self directed.
I consider the castles I have built, the treasures I store up.
I see friendships.
I see family.
I see possessions.
I see myself.
I see who I think I am. I see who I think I am becoming. I see hurt and dissapointment. I see insecurity. I see lies. I see the black ooze of time and love wasted. I see the dissonance of dreams unrealized and surrendered. I see the desire to grow. I see the direction of life abundant. I see loving. I see caring. I see tenderness. I see vulnerability. I see talents and gifts. I see my smile. I see my joy.
I see you.
I see the piece of love falling nearby. I reach to grab it, to hold it, to contain it. It is light as a feather and flits away. It swoops in the wind of the grenade and of my need to hold on tight. It avoids my yearning. As I sit and watch it flittering and fluttering, I smile. I laugh. It can’t be owned or held. It should be free and lite on my pieces. It should be light. I can’t grab it, and when I try it is in more turmoil. But I want it all. I want to feel its’ joy and freedom. I want to be safe and secure.
I don’t want to be alone. My desperation stirs the wind and love circles again. Again, I smile. Again, I laugh.

Love is that missing piece that is only there when you don’t hold on to it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2014 in faith, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “love and grenades

  1. Susan Irene Fox

    January 11, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Lovely, softly hitting the mark of my own soul. Love is also like a raindrop that lands on your skin and melts into it, absorbed into the fiber of your being, unaware.

     
  2. Billie K

    January 11, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    love its always there even when its gone…I got myself a bracelet today it says Let IT GO begin today surrender your fear nurture your soul…a gentle reminder to me as I feel all of the love I have and have had surround me ….:) I smile

     
  3. Debbie

    January 11, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    So well said! Thankfully as seekers we are not always in control :0) I’m sure incredible beauty will come as God continues the work He has started!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

