RSS

listen here…

17 Apr

“Really, I think we all just want to be heard.”

I doubted it. I pondered it. I considered it.

Could it be true? Are we all talking louder and louder, desperate to be heard above the din of everyone else, trying to be heard? Are we so self obsessed that we think our voice needs to be heard before and above everyone elses? I watched people communicate. I stared and watched a woman flitter from person to person, stating her flimsy and altered case. I watched a coach trying to organize a meet and be supportive. I watched parents explaining while their kids were running. Everyone was talking. Who was listening? I watched people pray. I watched as people beseeched God for various items and favors. More talking. Was God listening? Was God speaking? Who could hear it above the din?

IT is true. We talk and talk. We speak out on Facebook. We speak to God. We declare our fish allegiance on bumper stickers. We shout our politics, our religion, our sexuality. We text to avoid listening. We write blogs, books, and articles. We forget to read, to explore, to listen.

Listen. Actually hear someone. Read a book on a different opinion. Ignore and remove bumper stickers. Read someone’s facebook page before you ‘like’ it. Understand the value and virtue of opposing opinions. Spend time meditating and listening to God. I tried it…it is so much harder than you think.

What do you have to say?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2014 in life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “listen here…

  1. moonbug2013

    April 17, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I was just thinking about that…God and I have our own strange relationship.
    But.
    How many people have stopped reading books to blog(not so bad in my opinion).
    Text, tweet, and just do bursts of info.
    Bam bam bam…verses immersion into another world such as books give you?
    Makes you wonder.

     
  2. Susan Irene Fox

    April 18, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    I believe you are right. We have become a culture of talkers. Just last Sunday, my pastor said we are more concerned about our cause than God’s cause. We spend so much time talking we’ve forgotten how to be silent and listen for the Whisper.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

