RSS

bash birthdays

27 Apr

Today is my birthday. I don’t really do anything different for my birthday. This year, I am more reflective and morose than usual and I am trying to figure out why. I have caught myself tearing up a half dozen times.

I was 10 years old that day. My mom had been talking about my birthday for several days. “Not the tomorrow, noooot the next day, not the next one, but the next one will be your double digit birthday.” I was beside myself with excitement and anticipation. We were going to have a party at the park. I was thrilled. Well, it snowed. I lived in Albuquerque. It never snows in Albuquerque, particularly in the end of April. It snowed. I went down the slide anyway and my pants were wet for the rest of the party.

I was 13. I had another party and had a new friend spend the night. It was fun, but I was so excited, I couldn’t sleep and so tired, I cried.

I was in medical school and had a “How to host a murder party.” There were so many people I wanted to invite, we had two going at the same time. It was a bit overwhelming and I didn’t really get to hang out with anyone.

I was recently sober. I have always said the worst possible thing anyone could ever do to me would be throw a surprise party. I think that is cruel. I started reminding my wife that I really didn’t want a party, much less a surprise party. I explained that this was the wrong time for me to be in such an awkward position and I didn’t like it anyway. I went on to explain that it might sound like I was encouraging it and falsely putting forth resistance. I assured her, I wasn’t. I found out she intended to combine my party and my daughter’s party. However, it would be surprise to me. It was going to be HUGE. I begged her to not do it. She did it. I smoked flank steak for two days prior to the party. I feigned surprise. I was miserable, but hid it the best I could. I received 3 bottles of wine and countless 6-packs. I was bruised by the back slapping. She was pissed I didn’t think it was a great time.

I think I have PTSD for my birthday.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 27, 2014 in life

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “bash birthdays

  1. Susan Irene Fox

    April 27, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    Sometimes I just want to be myself on my birthday. To reflect. To take it all in. To weep and mourn to God. To be able to pick it up anew tomorrow. It’s a good thing. It’s just a day. Watch some Netflix. It’ll all be over in a few hours. Happy birthday. Tomorrow, you’ll have a fresh, new perspective. ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

