RSS

that aint mine

04 May

When I was dating my now ex-wife, I once told her that I set my moods from the music I listen to. She never understood that. In hindsight, I wonder if I was simply a mirror of emotion. I was never really sure of how I felt about things and would take on the mood and attitude of those around me. I would pick friends and dates that displayed the emotion I wanted to feel. I had no autonomy of emotion. I simply didn’t know how to allow myself to feel. That sounds bizarre, doesn’t it? When I was growing up, I wasn’t allowed to be mad. We were sent to our room to think about it. I wasn’t allowed to be sad either. As a kid, I was a bit of a crybaby. Unfortunately, every time I cried I got a bloody nose as well. I don’t know why. When I was upset about breaking up with a girlfriend in college and cried, my mom asked me to stay away until I could smile again. My wife used to tell me to not feel someway or another. I assumed that was how everyone did it and so I felt the way she told me to.

This last weekend I had the occasion to be around some pretty angry people taking pot shots at me. I felt a little like wonder woman deflecting bullets as I chanted that the emotions they ascribed to me were not mine.

I wonder if that is part of the reason my marriage ended. I felt unable to share true emotions with my ex, despite repeatidly trying. I was shunned. My need for intimacy left unreceived. I tried to set up emotional boundaries for myself. I needed to feel as I felt. I laughed, I rejoiced, I wallowed, I cried all when I needed to. I was empathetic but not sympathetic. That didn’t go over very well. I tried to explain that if I didn’t do that, I would retreat back into myself and stop living again. I needed to be alive. There was lip service to understanding and an undercurrent of hostility.

My wonder woman esque bracelets are getting a bit fatigued. IT is hard work deflecting emotions that aren’t mine. I defend my heart by waving my bracelet clad arms around. I know that I cant feel for other people. I try and understand their feelings without absorbing them. IT isn’t easy for me. I seem to be a sponge…a mirrored sponge. There are times the bullets ricochet off my bracelets and lodge in my brain or heart. I am getting better about combating the onslaught.

Victory comes more and more often. My ex saying that I am a deadbeat but admitting she doesn’t send me bills. “That aint mine.” My daughter spewing venom to cover her fear and hurt, “That aint mine.” The ex-in-laws (outlaws?) saying nasty things about me and to me, “That aint mine.” The medical boards rejecting me. “That aint mine.”

God telling me I am loved, unconditionally. “That’s mine.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2014 in faith, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “that aint mine

  1. Susan Irene Fox

    May 4, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Ages ago, I used to absorb other people’s emotions. Then I got these two visuals in my head: I could either be a sponge, which sucked everything up, or a tube, which let everything flow through me but didn’t absorb a drop. Once I chose the tube (or chute, in some cases), it became easier.

    We all have emotions; to deny them is to deny the way we were all created. It’s important and healthy to distinguish your feelings from those of someone else. Sounds like you’re doing just that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

