RSS

slurping Grace

22 Apr

I miss my daughters. Today is my youngest daughter’s birthday. There are a few great stories that keep flashing in my brain:

She was born on Earth Day and took that very seriously. When she was 5 or 6, she decided that the activity at her birthday party was to take the party outside and pick up trash. It was a bit nippy that day, but to see 15 preschoolers carrying black trash bags and picking up trash is indelible in my mind. For years afterward, people would comment on how fun that was.

The other is a post I did a long time ago. It was around communion. First you need to know that my daughter has one of those giraffe tongues. She can touch her nose with her tongue. I secretly wonder if she could lick her eyebrows with practice. In our church, we do communion every Sunday. We pass it up and down the aisles and you hold the tray for the next person while they get the bread and take a shot for Jesus. We have those little clear plastic cups. As it gets to her, she takes her time to find the biggest piece of bread. Then takes the cup and swigs the Grace of Salvation. Then her tongue dives into the cup. It filled the cup as she explored the nooks and crannies of the small cup. It seemed like she did it for hours, but it was a few seconds. She passed the tray without returning the cup and kept playing with it, using her tongue.  I kept giggling at it and thought how that is how we should all accept Grace…slurping it and interacting with Joy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2015 in children, faith

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

What Gives?

Big ideas in a tiny body

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

extraordinaryappreciator

Wandering in my wondering...

shellbegly91's Blog

A modern business theme

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Connecting Dots...to God

Theology in Context

K E R M I T ' S space

Life is JUST RIGHT

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Handcuffs Hurt

Dan Madden

brokenchristianheart

This blog reflects the thoughts, feelings and confusion of a christian woman going through a divorce and the thoughts post-divorce.

Chronicles of Jazzmine Bankston

"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world."-C.S. Lewis

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Lydia Robbins

Hold on, let me write this down

